Macorna is a small community town within the Gannawarra Shire, approximately 100 kilometres north of Bendigo and 35 kilometres south west of Cohuna.

It is on the Swan Hill railway line. The railway reached Macorna in 1884 but the Macorna station was closed in 1981.

The town is 85 metres above sea level.


Water supply

Macorna is part of the Goulburn System and we supply non potable water to around 11 connections.

Water for the township is a regulated supply sourced from a nearby Goulburn Murray Water Channel, and is gravity fed into a three megalitres earthen storage basin.

From the storage basin, water is pumped to two fibre glass tanks with a capacity of 13.6 kilolitres. The tanks are located on a steel tank stand. Water is gravity fed into the Macorna reticulation system.

For further water resource information on the Goulburn System see our monthly Water Summaries.


Water treatment

The water supplied in the Macorna reticulation system is non potable (un-treated raw water) with no treatment processes in place before water is supplied to customers.

Seven towns in our region are supplied with non potable (un-treated) water.

These townships are Borung, Dingee, Jarklin, Macorna, Mitiamo, Mysia and Wychitella.

Receiving a non potable supply means that the water is not suitable for human consumption (ie drinking, food preparation, brushing teeth or ice making purposes).


In the event of poor raw water quality, the water should also not be used for personal hygiene purposes - such as bathing or showering.

For further information read our non potable water supply brochure.


Projects, planned works and standpipes

View Your Town Map in a larger map


Town sign for Macorna



There is no sewerage system for the township of Macorna.

Townships without sewerage systems generally have septic tanks or other onsite wastewater systems to treat and dispose of, or recycle domestic wastewater at unsewered sites.

There is an Environment Protection Authority (EPA) Victoria Code of Practice for Onsite Wastewater Management and the local councils are responsible for the developing and managing domestic wastewater programs and plans.

Further information on onsite wastewater is available on the EPA website.


Water restrictions

Permanent Water Saving Rules (PWSR) apply.

PWSR are a set of five common sense water rules that are in place at all times when water restrictions are not in force.


Behind Railway Avenue, Pyramid Hill (Google Map)


Pricing information


Currently our region is divided into two separate pricing districts: Central and Northern. Fixed charges remain the same across both pricing districts but customers in each district pay a different rate per kilolitre of water used.


Macorna is in our Central District which covers our Bendigo, Castlemaine and Kyneton areas, Pyramid Hill, Lockington and towns near the Loddon River.

For full details see our Pricing information page.                                                                                     




Home | Privacy | Legal | Protected Disclosure | Accessibility | Site Map | Contact Us |   Copyright © Coliban Water