Raywood is a town in northern Victoria, Australia. The town is located in the City of Greater Bendigo around 30 kilometres north west of Bendigo itself.

Raywood has a population of around 330.

The Raywood Post Office opened on 4 January 1864.


Water supply

Water is supplied to the population through approximately 90 connections.

With the opening of the Raywood-Sebastian pipeline in 2012, the two townships were to the Bendigo water supply system which is in the Coliban System (Northern).

Raw water is sourced from the Sandhurst Reservoir located at Big Hill and holds up to 2,600 megalitres. This reservoir is filled from the Coliban Main Channel and the Eppalock-Bendigo Pipeline.

For the further water resource information on the Coliban System (Northern) see our monthly Water Summaries.

Water treatment

Water is treated at the Bendigo Water Treatment Plant located at Sandhurst Reservoir.

The treatment process includes microfiltration, ozonation, BAC filtration, pH correction, fluoridation and chloramination.

Treated water is stored in the Sandhurst clearwater storage which has a capacity of 40 megalitres before it is piped to the reticulation system. Water is supplied to several interface points including four gravity supply points, storages in the Specimen Hill Reservoir, pumping to Edwards Road Tank and one pressure reduction point.

Water to Raywood is treated with a booster chlorinator prior to distribution.

Full list of water treatment processes and added substances at out plants.


Projects, planned works and standpipes

View Your Town Map in a larger map

Raywood - Sebastian Pipeline Construction



There is no sewerage system for the township of Raywood.

Townships without sewerage systems generally have septic tanks or other onsite wastewater systems to treat and dispose of, or recycle domestic wastewater at unsewered sites.

There is an Environment Protection Authority (EPA) Victoria Code of Practice for Onsite Wastewater Management and the local councils are responsible for the developing and managing domestic wastewater programs and plans.

Further information on onsite wastewater is available on the EPA website.


Water restrictions

Permanent Water Saving Rules (PWSR) apply.

PWSR are a set of five common sense water rules that are in place at all times when water restrictions are not in force.


Bendigo - Pyramid Hill Road, outside CFA Station, Raywood (Google Map)


Pricing information

Currently our region is divided into two separate pricing districts: Central and Northern. Fixed charges remain the same across both pricing districts but customers in each district pay a different rate per kilolitre of water used.



Raywood is in our Central District which covers our Bendigo, Castlemaine and Kyneton areas, Pyramid Hill, Lockington and towns near the Loddon River.

For full details see our Pricing information page.





Home | Privacy | Legal | Protected Disclosure | Accessibility | Site Map | Contact Us |   Copyright © Coliban Water